PBZBuilds
Unofficial guide · Launch edition · Last checked Confirmed Reported Conflict After unlock

How long to beat Phantom Blade Zero, and how New Game Plus works

Expect about 20 to 30 hours for the main story, roughly 35 to 45 with side content, and 45 to 55 hours or more for 100%. The sources overlap but do not agree to the hour. Conflict · Game Rant New Game+ exists and opens after you finish the story. Reported · Game Rant

Playtime by goal

Each estimate is shown with who gave it. We do not average them, and none has been confirmed by S-GAME for the final game.

Length · sources
Developer, 2025 interviews
Developer main-story estimate: roughly 20-30 hours (Dec 2025 interview; same figure in a Jan 2025 Chinese-outlet report), plus ~20 hours of side content (2025 report).
Reported · Game Rant
Main story
Disputed: sources differ
Conflict · Game Rant
Show both sides
Conflict

Main story

Main story only: sources give 20-25, 25-30 and 20-30 hours.

  • Game Rant, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero: How Long To Beat & Chapter List

  • Push Square, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero Review (PS5)
    Reviewer Liam Croft; version reviewed PS5 Pro

  • Game Rant, 18 Dec 2025
    Phantom Blade Zero Has More Endings Than Elden Ring

How we handle it: The ranges overlap but their edges differ, and the developer figure dates from 2025. We show each; none has been confirmed by S-GAME for the final game.

Main plus side content
Disputed: sources differ
Conflict · Game Rant
Show both sides
Conflict

Main plus side content

Main story plus side content: 35-40 hours (Game Rant), about 45 hours (Push Square).

  • Game Rant, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero: How Long To Beat & Chapter List

  • Push Square, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero Review (PS5)
    Reviewer Liam Croft; version reviewed PS5 Pro

How we handle it: Playstyle, difficulty and what counts as a side quest all move the number. Treat these as ranges, not a promise.

Completionist / Platinum
Disputed: sources differ
Conflict · Insider Gaming
Show both sides
Conflict

Completionist / Platinum

Completionist: 45-50 hours (Insider Gaming), 50-55 hours (Game Rant); PowerPyx puts the Platinum at 30-40 hours.

  • Insider Gaming, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero Review - Insider Gaming
    Played on PS5 Pro

  • Game Rant, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero: How Long To Beat & Chapter List

  • PowerPyx
    Phantom Blade Zero Trophy Guide & Roadmap

How we handle it: The Platinum estimate and the completionist estimates measure different goals, which is likely why they differ: the trophies do not require every collectible.

Conflict · Length

Completionist: 30-40 or 45-55 hours?

Completionist: 45-50 hours (Insider Gaming), 50-55 hours (Game Rant); PowerPyx puts the Platinum at 30-40 hours.

  • Insider Gaming, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero Review - Insider Gaming
    Played on PS5 Pro

  • Game Rant, 26 Oct 2026
    Phantom Blade Zero: How Long To Beat & Chapter List

  • PowerPyx
    Phantom Blade Zero Trophy Guide & Roadmap

How we handle it: The Platinum estimate and the completionist estimates measure different goals, which is likely why they differ: the trophies do not require every collectible.

Your time moves with difficulty and how many deaths you take. Dying costs nothing you carry, so a hard boss costs minutes, not progress (see save and fast travel). We did not find HowLongToBeat figures we could cite.

New Game Plus

Kept on this page for now because the confirmed part is short. It gets its own page if carry-over details turn up.

New Game+ · sources
How it opens
New Game+ is available after you finish the story. Before starting it you can return to the Bell before the final battle, and you can revisit areas to collect missed items and finish remaining tales, except missable ones.
Reported · Game Rant
What carries over
What New Game+ carries over (levels, gear, collectibles) is not stated by any source we have read; PowerPyx only says you can keep cleaning up trophies there.
After unlock
66 Days mode
66 Days mode becomes selectable from the second playthrough, i.e. after you clear the game once.
Reported · S-GAME director's letter
Conflict · New Game+

What does the second run unlock?

S-GAME's director letter ties 66 Days to the second playthrough; Fextralife says the extreme mode Hellwalker unlocks only after finishing once on a difficulty it calls Gamechanger.

How we handle it: Every other source we hold lists Wayfarer, Pathbreaker and Hellwalker as selectable standard tiers and does not name a Gamechanger tier. We do not pick a side; check the in-game difficulty menu.

66 Days is optional: no trophy requires it. Reported · Push Square The rules of the mode are on the 66 Days page. After the story you can also return to the Bell before the final battle instead of starting a new run.

What we're still checking

Questions

How long is it?

Main story about 20-30 hours; 35-45 hours with side content; 45-55+ hours for completionists (reviewers range 40-50 h).

Reported · Game Rant
Is there New Game+?

A second playthrough exists and unlocks 66 Days; carry-over rules are not confirmed yet.

Reported · S-GAME director's letter
How do you start New Game+?

New Game+ is available after you finish the story. What it carries over is not stated by any source we have read.

Reported · Game Rant
Can I create a character or play as a female hero?

No creator or choice of hero is listed. You play as Soul, a named warrior with sixty-six days to live, according to the Steam store page.

Confirmed · Steam Store

Sources and checks

Official and store pages

Press, reviews and data sites

Other sources