PBZBuilds
Unofficial guide · Pre-unlock edition · Last checked Confirmed Reported Conflict After unlock

66 Days mode and the four difficulty settings in Phantom Blade Zero

Four difficulty options: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker, and Sixty-Six Days ('66 Days') mode. Reported · PlayStation Blog 66 Days has a budget of 66 deaths, and it isn't open from the start. Reported · GamesRadar+ Reported · S-GAME director's letter

The swordsman raises a long red-edged blade in a wet stone courtyard while a masked fighter lunges from the left and another waits in mist.
Image: S-GAME / official website media gallery

The four settings side by side

Each cell comes from a sourced fact. Where nothing has been published yet, the cell says so instead of guessing.

Phantom Blade Zero difficulty options and Sixty-Six Days rules Four difficulty options: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker, and Sixty-Six Days ('66 Days') mode. (Reported.) The three standard difficulties can be changed from the pause menu during play (at least lowering it is possible). (Reported.) Wayfarer is the story-first/easiest tier, aimed at players who just want to enjoy the story; all trophies can be earned on it. (Reported.) Pathbreaker is the 'normal' tier. (Reported.) Hellwalker is the hardest of the three standard tiers, with more advanced and adaptive enemy AI. (Reported.) Hellwalker tuning (from a July 2025 preview interview with combat director Qianli Ma): parry windows are shortened by two frames versus normal; bosses gain extra moves and feints. (Reported.) 66 Days uses the same enemy AI/strength as Hellwalker; the difference is the death limit. (Reported.) 66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough). (Reported.) 66 Days gives a budget of 66 deaths; when it runs out the run ends and that save is gone, so you restart from the beginning. (Reported.) Whether the run ends ON the 66th death or only after it (counter reaches zero vs. goes below zero) is not stated precisely. (After unlock.) 66 Days has its own separate save; it auto-saves when you touch a Bell, has no manual save, and you cannot reload to before a mistake. (Reported.) The '66 days' story clock is not a real-time limit: in-game time only passes at specific story beats, and on the first playthrough the remaining-days number has story meaning only. (Reported.) 66 Days is not required for any trophy/achievement; all can be earned in a single playthrough on the first three difficulties, including Wayfarer. (Reported.) Hellwalker/66 Days bosses react to the player's habits (feints, baiting parries); the developer says no team member has cleared 66 Days deathless. (Reported.) Four difficulty options: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker, and Sixty-Six Days ('66 Days') mode. REPORTED · PLAYSTATION BLOG THE THREE STANDARD TIERS The three standard difficulties can be changed from the pause menu during play (at least lowering it is possible). REPORTED · PUSH SQUARE Wayfarer Wayfarer is the story-first/easiest tier, aimed at players who just want to enjoy the story; all trophies can be earned on it. REPORTED · PLAYSTATION BLOG Pathbreaker Pathbreaker is the 'normal' tier. REPORTED · THESIXTHAXIS Hellwalker Hellwalker is the hardest of the three standard tiers, with more advanced and adaptive enemy AI. REPORTED · PLAYSTATION BLOG Hellwalker tuning (from a July 2025 preview interview with combat director Qianli Ma): parry windows are shortened by two frames versus normal; bosses gain extra moves and feints. REPORTED · PC GAMER Sixty-Six Days 66 Days uses the same enemy AI/strength as Hellwalker; the difference is the death limit. REPORTED · GAME8 Sixty-Six Days rules UNLOCK 66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough). REPORTED · S-GAME DIRECTOR'S LETTER DEATH LIMIT 66 Days gives a budget of 66 deaths; when it runs out the run ends and that save is gone, so you restart from the beginning. REPORTED · GAMESRADAR+ EXACT CUT-OFF Whether the run ends ON the 66th death or only after it (counter reaches zero vs. goes below zero) is not stated precisely. AFTER UNLOCK SAVING 66 Days has its own separate save; it auto-saves when you touch a Bell, has no manual save, and you cannot reload to before a mistake. REPORTED · S-GAME DIRECTOR'S LETTER STORY CLOCK The '66 days' story clock is not a real-time limit: in-game time only passes at specific story beats, and on the first playthrough the remaining-days number has story meaning only. REPORTED · GAMESRADAR+ TROPHIES 66 Days is not required for any trophy/achievement; all can be earned in a single playthrough on the first three difficulties, including Wayfarer. REPORTED · PUSH SQUARE BOSS BEHAVIOUR Hellwalker/66 Days bosses react to the player's habits (feints, baiting parries); the developer says no team member has cleared 66 Days deathless. REPORTED · GAME8 Phantom Blade Zero difficulty options and Sixty-Six Days rules Four difficulty options: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker, and Sixty-Six Days ('66 Days') mode. (Reported.) The three standard difficulties can be changed from the pause menu during play (at least lowering it is possible). (Reported.) Wayfarer is the story-first/easiest tier, aimed at players who just want to enjoy the story; all trophies can be earned on it. (Reported.) Pathbreaker is the 'normal' tier. (Reported.) Hellwalker is the hardest of the three standard tiers, with more advanced and adaptive enemy AI. (Reported.) Hellwalker tuning (from a July 2025 preview interview with combat director Qianli Ma): parry windows are shortened by two frames versus normal; bosses gain extra moves and feints. (Reported.) 66 Days uses the same enemy AI/strength as Hellwalker; the difference is the death limit. (Reported.) 66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough). (Reported.) 66 Days gives a budget of 66 deaths; when it runs out the run ends and that save is gone, so you restart from the beginning. (Reported.) Whether the run ends ON the 66th death or only after it (counter reaches zero vs. goes below zero) is not stated precisely. (After unlock.) 66 Days has its own separate save; it auto-saves when you touch a Bell, has no manual save, and you cannot reload to before a mistake. (Reported.) The '66 days' story clock is not a real-time limit: in-game time only passes at specific story beats, and on the first playthrough the remaining-days number has story meaning only. (Reported.) 66 Days is not required for any trophy/achievement; all can be earned in a single playthrough on the first three difficulties, including Wayfarer. (Reported.) Hellwalker/66 Days bosses react to the player's habits (feints, baiting parries); the developer says no team member has cleared 66 Days deathless. (Reported.) Four difficulty options: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker, and Sixty-Six Days ('66 Days') mode. REPORTED · PLAYSTATION BLOG THE THREE STANDARD TIERS The three standard difficulties can be changed from the pause menu during play (at least lowering it is possible). REPORTED · PUSH SQUARE Wayfarer Wayfarer is the story-first/easiest tier, aimed at players who just want to enjoy the story; all trophies can be earned on it. REPORTED · PLAYSTATION BLOG Pathbreaker Pathbreaker is the 'normal' tier. REPORTED · THESIXTHAXIS Hellwalker Hellwalker is the hardest of the three standard tiers, with more advanced and adaptive enemy AI. REPORTED · PLAYSTATION BLOG Hellwalker tuning (from a July 2025 preview interview with combat director Qianli Ma): parry windows are shortened by two frames versus normal; bosses gain extra moves and feints. REPORTED · PC GAMER Sixty-Six Days 66 Days uses the same enemy AI/strength as Hellwalker; the difference is the death limit. REPORTED · GAME8 Sixty-Six Days rules UNLOCK 66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough). REPORTED · S-GAME DIRECTOR'S LETTER DEATH LIMIT 66 Days gives a budget of 66 deaths; when it runs out the run ends and that save is gone, so you restart from the beginning. REPORTED · GAMESRADAR+ EXACT CUT-OFF Whether the run ends ON the 66th death or only after it (counter reaches zero vs. goes below zero) is not stated precisely. AFTER UNLOCK SAVING 66 Days has its own separate save; it auto-saves when you touch a Bell, has no manual save, and you cannot reload to before a mistake. REPORTED · S-GAME DIRECTOR'S LETTER STORY CLOCK The '66 days' story clock is not a real-time limit: in-game time only passes at specific story beats, and on the first playthrough the remaining-days number has story meaning only. REPORTED · GAMESRADAR+ TROPHIES 66 Days is not required for any trophy/achievement; all can be earned in a single playthrough on the first three difficulties, including Wayfarer. REPORTED · PUSH SQUARE BOSS BEHAVIOUR Hellwalker/66 Days bosses react to the player's habits (feints, baiting parries); the developer says no team member has cleared 66 Days deathless. REPORTED · GAME8

Phantom Blade Zero difficulty options and Sixty-Six Days rules

  • Four difficulty options: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker, and Sixty-Six Days ('66 Days') mode. Status: Reported.
  • The three standard tiers: The three standard difficulties can be changed from the pause menu during play (at least lowering it is possible). Status: Reported.
  • Wayfarer: Wayfarer is the story-first/easiest tier, aimed at players who just want to enjoy the story; all trophies can be earned on it. Status: Reported.
  • Pathbreaker: Pathbreaker is the 'normal' tier. Status: Reported.
  • Hellwalker: Hellwalker is the hardest of the three standard tiers, with more advanced and adaptive enemy AI. Status: Reported. Hellwalker tuning (from a July 2025 preview interview with combat director Qianli Ma): parry windows are shortened by two frames versus normal; bosses gain extra moves and feints. Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days: 66 Days uses the same enemy AI/strength as Hellwalker; the difference is the death limit. Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days, unlock: 66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough). Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days, death limit: 66 Days gives a budget of 66 deaths; when it runs out the run ends and that save is gone, so you restart from the beginning. Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days, exact cut-off: Whether the run ends ON the 66th death or only after it (counter reaches zero vs. goes below zero) is not stated precisely. Status: After unlock.
  • Sixty-Six Days, saving: 66 Days has its own separate save; it auto-saves when you touch a Bell, has no manual save, and you cannot reload to before a mistake. Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days, story clock: The '66 days' story clock is not a real-time limit: in-game time only passes at specific story beats, and on the first playthrough the remaining-days number has story meaning only. Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days, trophies: 66 Days is not required for any trophy/achievement; all can be earned in a single playthrough on the first three difficulties, including Wayfarer. Status: Reported.
  • Sixty-Six Days, boss behaviour: Hellwalker/66 Days bosses react to the player's habits (feints, baiting parries); the developer says no team member has cleared 66 Days deathless. Status: Reported.
Diagram: PBZ Builds, from the sources below
Difficulty · sources
Setting What it is Enemy strength When you can use it Trophy impact Status
Wayfarer 入阵者 Story-first, the easiest tier. After unlock After unlock Can be changed from the pause menu in play. Reported All trophies can be earned on it. Reported Reported · PlayStation Blog
Pathbreaker 破局者 The "normal" tier. After unlock After unlock Can be changed from the pause menu in play. Reported Trophies can be earned in one playthrough. Reported Reported · TheSixthAxis
Hellwalker 逆天者 The hardest of the three standard tiers. More advanced, adaptive enemy AI. Reported Can be changed from the pause menu in play. Reported Trophies can be earned in one playthrough. Reported Reported · PlayStation Blog
66 Days 六十六天 Hellwalker strength plus a 66-death budget. Reported Same enemy AI as Hellwalker. Reported After clearing the game once; sources differ on the details, see below. Reported Not required for any trophy. Reported Reported · PlayStation Blog

The setting names come from the PlayStation Blog post by S-GAME's founder; the Chinese names are from the developer's letter. Steam and press write "66 Days" for what the blog calls Sixty-Six Days mode.

At golden sunset, the swordsman dodges a spearman on a muddy battlefield strewn with bodies; a rider approaches.
The swordsman dodging a spearman on a muddy battlefield at sunset, from the official Steam screenshots. Image: S-GAME / Steam store page

When does 66 Days unlock?

Two outlets describe the unlock differently. We show both and don't pick one.

Note · 66 Days

What do you have to do to open 66 Days?

66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough).

  • S-GAME director's letter (reposted on GCORES), 9 Sep 2026
    一周目可白金!《影之刃零》发售倒计时50天!“六十六天”模式详解 | 机核 GCORES
    Director's letter, reposted in full on GCORES

  • Push Square, 11 Sep 2026
    You Can Get Phantom Blade Zero's PS5 Platinum Trophy on Its Easiest Difficulty

Push Square, passing on the developer's words, says it opens after one clear and is chosen from the second playthrough. GamingBolt adds that it is also available after finishing on Pathbreaker. Whether a Wayfarer clear counts has not been stated. After unlock

Second playthrough: A second playthrough exists: 66 Days unlocks there and late-game boss weapons are described as second-run content. Carry-over rules are not confirmed. Reported · S-GAME director's letter

How 66 Days works, rule by rule

One row per rule, each with its own mark. Anything we couldn't pin down stays marked as such.

66 Days rules · sources
Death budget
66 Days gives a budget of 66 deaths; when it runs out the run ends and that save is gone, so you restart from the beginning.
Reported · GamesRadar+
Exact limit (66th death?)
Whether the run ends ON the 66th death or only after it (counter reaches zero vs. goes below zero) is not stated precisely.
After unlock
Saves
66 Days has its own separate save; it auto-saves when you touch a Bell, has no manual save, and you cannot reload to before a mistake.
Reported · S-GAME director's letter
Story clock
The '66 days' story clock is not a real-time limit: in-game time only passes at specific story beats, and on the first playthrough the remaining-days number has story meaning only.
Reported · GamesRadar+
Enemy AI
66 Days uses the same enemy AI/strength as Hellwalker; the difference is the death limit.
Reported · Game8
Adaptive bosses
Hellwalker/66 Days bosses react to the player's habits (feints, baiting parries); the developer says no team member has cleared 66 Days deathless.
Reported · Game8
Unlock
66 Days is not available at the start: it unlocks after clearing the game once (it is selectable from the second playthrough).
Reported · S-GAME director's letter
Changing difficulty
The three standard difficulties can be changed from the pause menu during play (at least lowering it is possible).
Reported · Push Square

The 66 days as dots

Reported · GamesRadar+ One dot per day on the counter, which drops with each death. Illustration only: it shows the budget and nothing else about the mode.
The straw-hat swordsman crouches low in a sandy canyon with a long black blade drawn, a dark figure and a wind-chime pole behind him.
The swordsman crouching with a drawn blade in a sandy canyon from the official media kit. Image: S-GAME / official website media gallery
Snow-covered forge settlement with a smoking multi-tier pagoda tower, rope bridges and large pipes under a pale sky.
A snow-covered forge settlement with a smoking pagoda tower and rope bridges from the official media kit. Image: S-GAME / official website media gallery

Which one should I pick?

Matched to what you want from the game. Each line points back to the fact it rests on.

Preview-build reports describe Hellwalker's tuning in more detail (parry windows, extra boss moves). That interview predates release, so treat it as a hint. Reported · PC Gamer

Questions

What difficulties are there and can I change them?

Wayfarer (story), Pathbreaker (normal), Hellwalker (hard, adaptive AI) and 66 Days (unlocks after one clear). The first three can be changed from the pause menu.

Reported · PlayStation Blog
How does 66 Days mode work?

Unlocks after beating the game once. Same AI as Hellwalker, but you only get 66 deaths; when they run out, that save is over. Reportedly separate save, auto-save at Bells only, no manual saves.

Reported · Game8
Do I need 66 Days or hard mode for the Platinum?

No. All 36 PS5 trophies can be earned in one playthrough on any of the first three difficulties, including Wayfarer.

Reported · Push Square
Is there New Game+?

A second playthrough exists and unlocks 66 Days; carry-over rules are not confirmed yet.

Reported · S-GAME director's letter

Sources and checks

Official and store pages

Press, reviews and data sites

Other sources